Wires to wire win for Amonett at Mt. Lawn

Submitted photoBobby Fields of Willow Branch presents the winner’s trophy to Ryan Amonett of New Castle for winning the Bob Fields Memorial 200 at Mt. Lawn Speedway.

NEW CASTLE – With Mother Nature finally cooperating Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stock Series Powered by JEGS racers stormed into Mt. Lawn Speedway for the postponed Bob Fields Memorial 200 on July 28 along with Stock Compacts, Pro Compacts, Thunder cars, and Barlow Auto Parts Crown Vics.

New Castle driver Ryan Amonett led all 200 laps, but never had a lead of more than 1.5 seconds on the second-place car of Jason Thompson with Phil Jenkins, a close third.

“We finally got this race in!” Amonett exclaimed from Victory Lane. “This is two races in row that we have been to that we have won. I have to thank everyone for racing clean; Jeff Lane, Jason Atkinson and Jason Thompson were great to race. We are a low budget team and a win like this really helps.”

Bob Fields is synonymous with racing in central Indiana, dominating the short tracks for decades and is one of winningest drivers in Mt. Lawn Speedway’s long history. He raced hard on the track and helped many drivers make it to the track each week by sponsoring many of them through Fields Auto Parts. In 1995 Bob came out of racing retirement to compete in the 200 lap Great Survival Run. He came from four laps down after being involved in an early accident to take the win.

Jenkins took the All-Star Performance Fast Qualifier Award and drew a six for the invert putting Amonett on the pole with Lane on the outside of the front row. Jumping out the lead Amonett drove a flawless race; he was challenged by Lane, Atkinson, and Thompson with each of them racing on Amonett’s bumper throughout.

Trading second place, Lane fell back to third at the start, regained second on a restart, and kept within striking distance but could not get past Amonett. On a restart at lap 109, Lane had a suspension problem and was forced to pull off, leaving Thompson to chase Amonett.

Jenkins had worked his way to third by the half way break had to restart on the tail due to a problem during the break. He worked his way back to third, and was faster than the leaders the last several laps, but could not catch them as the laps ran out.

This is the longest race at Mt. Lawn in more than 25 years.

“No one knew how to pace themselves for 200 laps here,” Thompson said. “So, we all just did what we had to do.”

Mark Jennings took the Pro Compact feature win over David Powell with Brett Smith finishing third. Jennings had built up a large lead but Justin Mefford lost an engine with three laps to go bunching up the field, before Jennings pulled out the win. Greg Smith set fast time.

Tyler Perry took the win in the Barlow Auto Parts Crown Vics when Dustin King bounced off the front stretch wall while coming to the checkered flag.

Frankie Oakes led the last 15 laps of the Thunder Cars to win over second place David McConnell, Ray Evans in third, AJ Stewart fourth and fast qualifier Dustin Sapp fifth.

“We scaled it out and it helped us,” Oakes said. “This is my first win here since 2001 or 2002.”

Brad Ransdale won the Stock Compacts race with a wild finish over Fast Qualifier Brian Slavey. Ransdale took the lead on the 10th lap, Slavey caught Ransdale after the white flag flew, as they came out of the short turn coming to checkers a lapped car was in their sights. Ransdale went high, Slavey low squeezing the lap car, Ransdale was turned sideways facing the infield with Slavey pushing his driver’s door as they crossed the line.

“Thanks to the 88 for the ride there at the end, I loved it,” Ransdale said. “I knew he was there and I needed to get around them.”

The next scheduled event at Mt. Lawn at this time is the car show on Labor Day, Sept. 2.