NEW CASTLE - Mt. Lawn Speedway located five miles west of New Castle will be hosting the 46th running of the most prestigious race in Mt. Lawn’s long history - the Marcum’s Welding and Steel Processing Raintree 100 on Sunday.

The race will be contested with CRA Sportsman cars for the second year in a row. Jeff Marcum of Morristown, the defending champion of the Raintree, has already entered a car in this year’s race. Marcum is a three-time winner of the Raintree, winning in ‘10, ‘11 and ‘18 and hopes to add crown number four and join an elite group of four time winners which includes LJ Lines of Dunreith in ‘73, ‘76, ‘82 and ‘94, Harold Scott of New Castle who has won five times in ‘74, ‘75, ‘79, ‘81 and 83 and Rick Rhonemus of Desoto in ‘87, ‘90, ‘92 and ‘93.

Dave Duncan of Cicero is a two-time winner ‘88 and ‘89 will be in the starting field this Sunday. Other known entries include last Saturday’s Sportsman race winner at Anderson Speedway Zach Tinkle of Speedway, Larry Green and Brian Marrow of Muncie, Kent Carson, Andy Jennings and Chris Jennings of Richmond. Other entries will be posted on the Mt. Lawn website as they are received.

Also on the program will be a 50-lap Thunder Car feature sponsored by Van Hoy Oil of Knightstown, Pro Compacts, Factory Stock Compacts, State Farm Insurance Street Drags and a new addition to the schedule a newly formed class of Crown Vic only type cars Sponsored by Barlow Auto Parts. The Crown Vic class originated at the Indianapolis Speedrome and will be making their first appearance at Mt. Lawn.

The pit gate will open at 1 p.m. Grandstand and practice opens at 3 p.m. Qualifications will begin at 4:50 p.m. with Payne Auto Parts trophy dashes kicking off the racing activity promptly at 6 p.m. A complete schedule of events can be found on the Mt Lawn website or on Mt. Lawn’s social media accounts.

Ticket prices are $13 with kids 12-and-under free.