Rushville Republican

October 11, 2013

Knights, Spartans reign at EIAC meet

By Aaron Kirchoff Rushville Republican
Rushville Republican

---- — CONNERSVILLE – The EIAC held its annual cross country meet at Connersville with South Dearborn and Connersville claiming the team titles.

South Dearborn won the team title for the boys with 29 points, taking four of the top six individual positions.

Connersville took second overall with 58 followed by Batesville 74, Greensburg 110, Rushville 123, East Central 139, Franklin County 188 and Lawrenceburg incomplete.

Connersville’s Matt Hill won the race with a time of 16:48.

Rushville was led by the all-conference performance of Kenny Nigh with a seventh place finish in 18:03.

Bryce Conrad was next for the Lions in 24th with a time of 18:58. L.J. Conrad took 25th in 19:07. Patrick Duffy ran a 19:31. Luke Schombert cross the line in 20:01. Dalton Miller finished in 20:09 and Josh Hodge finished in 20:18.

The Lady Spartans edged Batesville for the team title for the girls. Connersville tallied 42 followed by Batesville 45, Greensburg 73, South Dearborn 88, East Central 128, Franklin County 149, Rushville 153 and Lawrenceburg incomplete.

Connersville’s Morgan Hamilton won the race in 20:33.

Rushville’s Kayla Fogg earned all-conference honors with a fifth place finish in 21:05.

Monica Dougherty crossed the line in 23:55. Brooke Taylor ran a 25:01. Megan Clifton finished in 25:46. Macey Orme cross the finish line in 25:48 and Sarah Ford finished in 26:14.

In the boys junior varsity race, Rushville’s Brett Leisure ran a 22:32 followed by Jon Ripberger 22:53 and Reece Fields 23:30.

Both the Lions and Lady Lions return to Connersville Tuesday for the sectional.

Contact: Aaron Kirchoff at 765-932-2222, ext. 114