Rushville Republican

May 14, 2013

Lions run to HHC track title

Aaron Kirchoff
Rushville Republican

RUSHVILLE — The Lion track team competed in the Hoosier Heritage Conference track meet and returned to Rushville with the hardware - the HHC team championship trophy.

Fourteen points separated the top three teams with the Lions taking top honors with 110 followed by Shelbyville second with 101, Mt. Vernon third with 100, New Palestine fourth with 96, Greenfield-Central fifth with 80, Pendleton Heights sixth with 64, Yorktown seventh with 40 and Delta eighth with 32.

Rushville’s 1600 relay team of Zach Turner, Austin Dwenger, Nick Zepeda and Ashton Wilson won in 3:31.90.

Garland won the discus with a distance of 141-08. Josh Clines was eighth at 115-5.

Rushville’s Sam Beavers took fifth in the 100 in :11.9 with Austin Clark seventh in :12.00. Beavers was fourth in the 200 at :24.2 with Clark fifth in :24.6.

Zepeda finished second in the 400 with a time of :51.70. Dwenger was seventh in :53.80.

In the 800, Wilson finished third in 2:03.90 with Patrick Duffy 11th in 2:13.40.

Evan Dyer crossed the line seventh in the 1600 with a time of 4:44.8. Ryan Fogg was 12th in 4:59.60. Dyer was fifth in the 3200 in 10:26.50 with Dalton Miller sixth in 10:31.

In the 110 hurdles, Turner finished third in :15.90. Turner returned to take second in :40.50 with Jeremy Hallgarth fifth in :42.60.

Rushville’s 400 relay team of Shawn Valentine, Clark, Beavers and Zach Keim took second in :45.80.

Rushville’s 3200 relay team of Fogg, Zepeda, Miller and Wilson were runner-up in 8:20.60.

Hallgarth took third in the high jump at 5-8.

Keim was sixth in the pole vault with a height of 11-00. He was seventh in the long jump at 19-1 with Valentine 11th at 17-4.5.

Garland took fifth in the shot put at 45-9 with JT Ephlin was 12th at 37-11.

Contact: Aaron Kirchoff at 765-932-2222, ext. 114