Rushville Republican

May 20, 2014

EC sweeps EIAC track team titles

Turner, Keim and Sammons win event titles

By Aaron Kirchoff Rushville Republican
Rushville Republican

---- — East Central left Rushville with the conference championships for both boys and girls following the EIAC track meet at Rushville.

For the boys, East Central tallied 143 points for the title. Batesville was second with 125 followed by Rushville 114, Connersville 98, Franklin County 48, Greensburg 36, South Dearborn 32 and Lawrenceburg 15.

For the girls, East Central finished with 154 followed by Batesville 135.5, Connersville 87, Greensburg 83, South Dearborn 73, Rushville 58.5, Franklin County 27 and Lawrenceburg 3.

The Trojans opened the meet by winning the 3200-meter relay in 8:32.67. Rushville’s team of Dalton Miller, Patrick Duffy, Josh Hodge and Evan Dyer was third in 8:50.05.

Batesville won the 3200-meter relay for the girls in 10:18.96. Rushville’s team of Brandi Adkins, Monica Dougherty, Kayla Fogg and Arielle Ordas was fourth in a season best 10:42.63.

Rushville’s Zach Turner won the 110 hurdles in :15.52. Jeremy Hallgarth was second in :16.16. For the girls in the 100 hurdles, East Central’s Becca Ginn was conference champ in :16.67. Rushville’s Aubrey Stomberg was fifth in :18.04 with Fran Percell sixth in :18:41.

In the 100-meter dash, East Central’s Cade Knueven won for the boys in :11.13. Rushville’s Sam Beavers was sixth in :11.85. For the girls, Batesville’s Virginia Westerfeld took first in :12.62. Rushville’s Kianna Boudine was sixth in :14.29.

In the 1600-meter run, South Dearborn’s Joe Rector (4:34.53) and Batesville’s Kelsey Gausman (5:30.80) were conference champs. Rushville’s Dyer was third for the boys (4:44.82) and Miller was eighth (5:01.14). For the girls, Fogg was fourth in 5:47.72 and Dougherty was eighth in 6:03.60.

East Central won the 400-meter relay for the boys (:44.15) and girls (:51.62). The Lions’ team of Turner, Keith Yager, Beavers and Zach Keim finished second in :45.07). For the Lady Lions, the team of Emma Beavers, Jordan Linville, Boudine and Katy Newbold took seventh in :59.56.

Batesville’s John Moody (:53.15) and South Dearborn’s Morgan Zoller (1:01.24) were conference champs in the 400-meter dash. Rushville’s Hodge was eighth (:55.53).

Turner returned to claim the conference title in the 300 hurdles in :40.88. Hallgarth was third in :42.40. For the girls, Stomberg was seventh in :54.15 with South Dearborn’s Ariel Biggs winning in :49.61.

East Central’s Jordan Brown (2:04.41) and Batesville’s Gausman (2:29.77) were conference champs in the 800-meter run. David Sheehan was eighth (2:12.95) for the boys with Brandi Adkins fifth (season best 2:38.53) for the girls.

Knueven also was the conference champ in the 200-meter run in :22.69 with Rushville’s Beavers fourth in :23.63. For the girls, Westerfeld was the individual champion in :26.39.

In the 3200-meter run, South Dearborn’s Rector (9:50.83) and Connersville’s Morgan Hamilton (12:01.67) claimed the conference titles. Dyer finished third for the boys in 10:26.24 and Fogg was fourth for the girls in a season best 12:28.46.

East Central won the 1600-meter relay for the boys (3:34.25) and girls (4:13.43). For the Lions, the team of Turner, Duffy, Ezra Griffith and Beavers finished second in 3:34.93. For the girls, Rushville’s team of Zinnia Leon, Taylor Yager, Stomberg and Brooke Drake finished seventh in 4:50.23.

Connersville’s Malik Coles won the boys high jump at 6-0. Hallgarth was third for the Lions at 5-10. Batesville’s Kimberly Tidman won for the girls at 5-3.

Coles also won the long jump at 20-2.5. Keim of Rushville was second at 20-0.5 and Griffith was third at 19-0.5. For the girls, East Central’s Kelli Cartuyvelles took first at 14-8.25.

Greensburg swept the shot put with Kyle Redelman winning for the boys at 46-0.5 and Mary Kamman winning for the girls at 34-9. Ellie Sammons was third for the Lady Lions with a toss of 34-5.

Sammons won the conference title in the discus with a distance of 108-4. Kayla Shelton was sixth at 93-4. Jacob Steinmetz of East Central won for the boys at 148-2with Rushville’s Nick Hutchinson sixth at 111-7 and Josh Clines seventh at 108-2.

Rushville’s Keim won the pole vault for the boys at 13-0. South Dearborn’s Tara West won for the girls at 8-6. Mekyna Hall was fifth for the Lady Lions at 6-6.

Contact: Aaron Kirchoff at 765-932-2222, ext. 114