Rushville Republican

October 15, 2013

sports briefs

Rushville Republican

---- — Today’s event

Cross country: Sectional at Connersville, 5:30 p.m.

Volleyball sectional draw

The IHSAA announced the draw for the volleyball sectional. Rushville will compete at Batesville. The Lady Lions drew the bye and will face South Dearborn in the semifinal on Oct. 26. In the first match of the sectional, Greensburg takes on Franklin County. In the second, Batesville faces Lawrenceburg. The winners of those two matches play in the other semifinal.

Junior varsity volleyball

The junior varsity Lady Lion volleyball team finished seventh in the EIAC tournament Saturday at Lawrenceburg.

On the day for the Lady Lions, Adrianna Zepeda had seven digs. Brenna Hall had one ace, three kills and 19 digs. Cammi Miller had three digs and Fran Percell had two digs. Carissa Comstock finished with six aces, two kills, 30 assists and 23 digs. Emma Harpring added three aces, 10 kills, two assists and three digs. Kayla Aldridge had one ace, one kill and five digs. Kelly Brown finished with four kills, one assist and three digs. Mekyna Hall had four aces, five kills, two assists and 11 digs. Tori Colestock had two aces, 17 kills, one assist and five digs.

RCHS basketball tickets

Golden Lion Members, Corporate Sponsors and parents of players will have first choice on reserved seats for boys and girls basketball games. They should bring their tickets to the Memorial Gym Athletic Office on Oct. 31 and Nov. 1. All-Sport ticket holders may begin selecting their seats on Nov. 4.

General admission tickets will be $5 (middle school and high school students will not need assigned seats).

Ticket prices are: Golden Lion Ticket $60, Adult All-Sport $50 and Student All-Sport $40.

Hedrick Wins at Brownstown Speedway

The Midwest TQ Racing League presented by ended the 2013 race season on Saturday at the Brownstown Speedway. Twenty-seven three-quarter midgets were on hand raising the average car count for the MTQRL’s fifth season to a very respectable 24.77 cars per race.

Matt Hedrick was the night’s Elwood Sanitarium Haunted Attraction Polesitter and led the field to green to start the 20-lap feature followed by Logan Arnold and Nick Speidel. On lap five Speidel got around Arnold and began to reel in race leader Hedrick. Hedrick was able to maintain his lead until the caution waived on lap 13 for Ron Hamm’s spin in turn four.

On the restart, Speidel dove low in turn one momentarily taking the lead. Hedrick countered in turn two going under Speidel and entered the backstretch as the race leader. Speidel was never able to get close enough to challenge for the lead again and Hedrick cruised to the first feature win of his career followed by Speidel, Bobby Walton, Arnold and Chris Mann. Robbie Roland, Caleb Faulkner, Jon Steed, Jamie Ross and Craig Eaglin rounded out the top 10.


Roland was the Indy Race Parts Hard Charger after passing twelve cars on the way to his sixth place finish and the Duane & Sonja Alexander Hard Luck Driver Award went to Tristan Maggart who spun from sixth place on the final lap.


Perfect North Slopes heat wins went to Hedrick, Arnold and Speidel and Dustin Wheeldon won the semi feature. Roland won the Jackson Oil & Solvents gift certificate via a random drawing at the drivers meeting.


The MTQRL will honor 2013 champions Nick & Joe Speidel at its Annual Awards Banquet on November 2nd at the Hampton Inn in Greensburg, Ind. Awards will be presented to the top fifteen owners and drivers along with several special awards including the Tony Stewart Racing Rookie of the Year and the MTQRL Spirit Award. A banquet ticket order form is available on the Schedule page of the MTQRL website.


For more information on the Midwest TQ Racing League presented by please visit our website or Like us on Facebook at “Midwest TQ Racing League.”

Contact: Aaron Kirchoff at 765-932-2222, ext. 114