Rushville Republican

March 15, 2013

Athletes honored at awards program

Aaron Kirchoff
Rushville Republican

RUSHVILLE — The RCHS student athletes were honored Tuesday at the annual winter sports awards program following another successful year for the Lions and Lady Lions.

Athletic Director Dave Green welcomed those in attendance and then on behalf of the athletic department, received a check for $12,000 from

Booster Club president Mike Purcell. The money raised by the Booster Club is what keeps costs away from RCHS student athletes. Many schools have gone to participation fees and travel fees for athletes and the hard work by the Booster Club takes expenses away from the families.

The first team honored at the program was the Lady Lion gymnastics squad. The Rookie of the Year award went to Katie Egielske. The mental attitude award went to Mariah Fenimore. Most Valuable Gymnasts was given to Kylee Elleman, the first RCHS gymnasts to reach the state finals. Elleman will compete at the state Saturday on the beam.

For the Lady Lion swim team, Brenna Hall was named Rookie of the Year. Abby Clark was named Most Valuable Swimmer. Sarah Daubenspeck received the mental attitude award. Michaela Colestock received most improved and the HHC academic award.

Dalton Miller was named Most Valuable Swimmer for the Lion swimmers and Sam Cole was named Rookie of the Year.

For the Lion wrestlers, state runner-up Joe Garland was named Most Outstanding. Robert Hadley and Zach Roszell both received the positive mental attitude award. Bailey Ford was named most improved.

For the cheerleaders, Bree Huskins received the Leadership Award. Kari Carter received the Senior Leader Award. Mary Kate Amos received the Spirit Award and Aubrey Stomberg was named most dependable.

For the regional champion Lady Lion basketball team, Keragan Niehoff and Mackenzie Campbell were co-Most Valuable Players. Mikayla Dougherty received the Miss Hustle Award, Heart of a Lady Lion Award and HHC

Academic Award. Casey Yager received the mental attitude award. Kelsi Ash was named most improved. Kaley Flannery received the Heart of a Lady Lion


The Lion basketball team wrapped up the program. Nate Niehoff received the highest field goal percentage award. Hunter Orme received the highest free throw percentage award. Nate Hoeing received the most rebound, most assists and HHC Academic awards. John Riddell received the Lion Award and HHC Academic Award.

Contact: Aaron Kirchoff at 765-932-2222 ext. 114