Rushville Republican

November 8, 2013

Fall student athletes honored

By Aaron Kirchoff Rushville Republican
Rushville Republican

---- — A standing room only crowd filled the RCHS cafeteria Wednesday evening as the student athletes of fall sports were honored for their accomplishments.

After a welcome from athletic director Dave Green, Ron Jarman presented a check to the athletic department for $10,000 on behalf of the Booster Club.

The Lady Lion golf team was the first to be honored. Catie Liggett was recognized for the low match average. She was also All-EIAC and a regional qualifier. Whitley Disbro received the most improved award. Abbey Gulde received the Gene Evans golf award along with regional qualifier and academic all-state. Megyn Kirchoff was named Rookie of the Year.

For cross country, Kayla Fogg was named most valuable runner and was All-EIAC and semistate qualifier. Sarah Ford was the most improved runner and Brandi Adkins was Newcomer of the Year. For the boys, Dalton Miller and Kenny Nigh were co-most valuable runners. Nigh was also All-EIAC. Newcomer of the Year was Patrick Duffy and Bryce Conrad received the Heart of a Champion award.

The tennis team recognized three individuals: Jake Fowler as mental attitude award winner, Michael St. John as most improved and Will Hogsett with most varsity wins.

Four of the Lady Lion soccer players were named academic all-state – Regan Laker, Nici Martin (most valuable player), Jill Yager (coaches’ award) and Mariah Fenimore (Heart of a Lion). Shyla Sharp was named most versatile player and Alisha Markley was named Rookie of the Year.

For the Lion soccer team, Grant Houston was named defensive player of the year. Derrik Justice was named offensive player of the year. Ethan Foster was the most valuable player. Hunter Yazel received the mental attitude award. Michael VanSchoyck was selected as most improved player and Ike Sheehan was named Rookie of the Year.

For the Lady Lion volleyball team, Keragan Niehoff was named most valuable offensive player. Allison Wainwright was most valuable defensive player. Keely Springman had the most assists. Casey Yager and Kayla Shelton both received the mental attitude award.

For the football team, Clay Tressler received the outstanding defensive back award and most valuable player award. Garrett Hittle received the outstanding linebacker award. Nick Hornaday was named outstanding lineman. Zach Turner was the outstanding offensive back. Austin Yurack received the outstanding special team player award. Josh Yager was the outstanding receiver. Lane James was named most improved player.

The cheerleaders were also recognized. Bree Huskins received the leadership award. Destiny Scott received the bravest flyer award. Josie Starkey received the most daring base award. Yessica Leon received the above and beyond award and Savanna Cain received the spirit/mental attitude award.

Contact: Aaron Kirchoff at 765-932-2222, ext. 114