Rushville Republican

April 9, 2013

Lions easily handle Yellow Jackets

Aaron Kirchoff
Rushville Republican

RUSHVILLE — In the home meet against Morristown, the Lion track team posted a convincing 112-20 victory over the Yellow Jackets.

The Lions opened the meet by winning the 3200 relay in 9:02.60. The team consisted of Dalton Miller, Austin Dwenger, Luke Sheehan and Patrick Duffy.

In the 110 hurdles, Zach Turner won in :15.62 (personal best) and Bryce Thomas has a PB :17.75. Turner also won the 300 hurdles in a PB :41.77 with Jeremy Hallgarth third in a PB :44.88.

Nick Zepeda won the 100 in :11.41. Sam Beavers was second in a PB :11.51 and Austin Clark was third in a PB :12.16. Zepeda returned to win the 400 in a PB :51.27 with Ashton Wilson second in :52.51.

Evan Dyer won the 1600 in a PB 4:52. Miller was second in a PB 4:59.03 and Ryan Fogg was third in 5:01.57. Miller took top honors in the 3200 with a PB 11:05.30. Bryce Conrad was second in 11:29.30 and David Fogg was third in a PB 11:38.

The 400 relay team of Turner, Shawn Valentine, Beavers and Clark took first in a season best :46.11.

Dwenger finished second in the 800 in 2:14.52 with Sheehan third in a PB 2:17.02.

Wilson won the 200 in :23.55 with Beavers second in a PB :23.75.

In the final running event, the 1600 team of Wilson, Beavers, Zepeda and Dwenger took first in a season best 3:41.32.

For the field events, Joe Garland won the discus with a distance of 141-2 and the shot put with a toss of 45-7. Cody Waggoner was second in the discus with a PB 112-9 and second in the shot put with a PB 43-8. Nate Douglass took third in the shot put with a PB 37-8.

Hallgarth finished second in the high jump with a personal best 5-8. Zach Keim was third at 5-4.

Valentine took first in the long jump at 18-6.5 with Keim second at 17-9.

Keim won the pole vault at 11-0 with Jon Seals second at 9-0 and Kristian Marshall third at 7-0.

Other Lions setting personal bests were Jake Lambert and Hallgarth in the 110 hurdles; Jeremy Ordas in the 100; Bryce Conrad in the 1600; Duffy in the 800; Clark in the 200; L.J. Conrad in the 3200; Nick Hornaday, Nick Hutchinson and Evan Messer in the shot put; and Hunter Barnet, J.T. Ephlin, Hornaday, Robert Lopat and Ian Vivares in the discus.

Contact: Aaron Kirchoff at 765-932-2222 ext. 114