Rushville Republican

November 27, 2012

RHS/RCHS Alumni unite

Rushville Republican

RUSHVILLE — The alumni of Rushville High School and Rushville Consolidated High School came together to celebrate their 54th annual association meeting during the summer at the Rushville Elk’s Club with approximately 200 in attendance.

Within their midst, was the Class of 1962, celebrating 50 years since their graduation. Winona Evans who has long served as historian, passed away this past summer. Alumni Brian Sheehan has agreed to take on the role and shared the following information about the reunion.

The meeting was called to order June 23 by John McCane ‘83, association president. The invocation was given by Ed Springman ‘62. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mary Beth Mattox Scott ‘62 and John McCane gave the welcome and announcements.

A delicious meal was prepared and served by the Elks.

The treasurer’s report was given by Cindy Ellis Pavey ‘76. The secretary’s report was made by Anita Spurlin Simpson ‘71.

Introductions and recognition of classes followed.

The awards for $1,000 scholarships were presented by David Payne ‘83. Recipients included: Emily Wright, daughter of Richard and Sandy Wright, who is attending Purdue University for Engineering; Kaylee Yager, daughter of Richard and Lorri Yager, who is attending the University of Evansville for Exercise Science/Physical Therapy; and Michaela Cloud, daughter of Ryan and Georga Cloud, who is attending Ball State for Public Relations.

The 50 year class was introduced and celebrated in a speech by Tom Moster ‘62. At the conclusion of his speech, Moster presented the Bob Waggener Senior Distinguished Alumni Award to classmate Ed Springman. Moster stated, “One person in our class that needs to be looked up to for his attitude and spirit in overcoming adversity is Eddie Springman.” After suffering injuries in an accident during high school, Springman learned to cope with his disabilities and to use his experiences to help others. Springman retired as a Professor of Religious Studies and Social Sciences from Marylhurst University; as a Mental Health and State Police Chaplain; and a United

Methodist Pastor. He also served as director of Chaplain Services at Eastern Oregon Hospital and Training Center located in Pendleton, Ore. Springman was moved while receiving the honor.

Mike Joyce ‘51 presented the Junior Distinguished Alumnus Award to Dean Jessup ‘68. Dean is the Mayor of the City of Lawrence and is serving his first elected office as the sixth Mayor of Lawrence, which has a population of more than 46,000. Mayor Jessup has been involved in various volunteer leadership positions in Lawrence over the past 20+ years including the Fire Merit Commission, Community Development Corporation, Board of Zoning Appeals and is an active member of Geist Christian Church. Mayor Jessup believes that effective local leadership begins by listening to the hopes and dreams of his neighbors and communicates his response by his actions that help others.

Cinda Pavey ‘76, last year’s winner of the Maurice “Porky” Wainwright Distinguished Community Service Award, presented to this year’s winner, Anita “Punk” Simpson ‘71. Anita has been very active with the organization and has served as its secretary since 1998. Anita is married to Tom Simpson.

A special recognition was made to the family of Winona Evans ‘45 to celebrate her many contributions to the Alumni Association, especially for her service and passion as the Alumni’s “Historian” since 1999.

The next reunion will be in June of 2013.