Rushville Republican


November 27, 2012

RHS/RCHS Alumni unite

RUSHVILLE — The alumni of Rushville High School and Rushville Consolidated High School came together to celebrate their 54th annual association meeting during the summer at the Rushville Elk’s Club with approximately 200 in attendance.

Within their midst, was the Class of 1962, celebrating 50 years since their graduation. Winona Evans who has long served as historian, passed away this past summer. Alumni Brian Sheehan has agreed to take on the role and shared the following information about the reunion.

The meeting was called to order June 23 by John McCane ‘83, association president. The invocation was given by Ed Springman ‘62. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mary Beth Mattox Scott ‘62 and John McCane gave the welcome and announcements.

A delicious meal was prepared and served by the Elks.

The treasurer’s report was given by Cindy Ellis Pavey ‘76. The secretary’s report was made by Anita Spurlin Simpson ‘71.

Introductions and recognition of classes followed.

The awards for $1,000 scholarships were presented by David Payne ‘83. Recipients included: Emily Wright, daughter of Richard and Sandy Wright, who is attending Purdue University for Engineering; Kaylee Yager, daughter of Richard and Lorri Yager, who is attending the University of Evansville for Exercise Science/Physical Therapy; and Michaela Cloud, daughter of Ryan and Georga Cloud, who is attending Ball State for Public Relations.

The 50 year class was introduced and celebrated in a speech by Tom Moster ‘62. At the conclusion of his speech, Moster presented the Bob Waggener Senior Distinguished Alumni Award to classmate Ed Springman. Moster stated, “One person in our class that needs to be looked up to for his attitude and spirit in overcoming adversity is Eddie Springman.” After suffering injuries in an accident during high school, Springman learned to cope with his disabilities and to use his experiences to help others. Springman retired as a Professor of Religious Studies and Social Sciences from Marylhurst University; as a Mental Health and State Police Chaplain; and a United

Methodist Pastor. He also served as director of Chaplain Services at Eastern Oregon Hospital and Training Center located in Pendleton, Ore. Springman was moved while receiving the honor.

Mike Joyce ‘51 presented the Junior Distinguished Alumnus Award to Dean Jessup ‘68. Dean is the Mayor of the City of Lawrence and is serving his first elected office as the sixth Mayor of Lawrence, which has a population of more than 46,000. Mayor Jessup has been involved in various volunteer leadership positions in Lawrence over the past 20+ years including the Fire Merit Commission, Community Development Corporation, Board of Zoning Appeals and is an active member of Geist Christian Church. Mayor Jessup believes that effective local leadership begins by listening to the hopes and dreams of his neighbors and communicates his response by his actions that help others.

Cinda Pavey ‘76, last year’s winner of the Maurice “Porky” Wainwright Distinguished Community Service Award, presented to this year’s winner, Anita “Punk” Simpson ‘71. Anita has been very active with the organization and has served as its secretary since 1998. Anita is married to Tom Simpson.

A special recognition was made to the family of Winona Evans ‘45 to celebrate her many contributions to the Alumni Association, especially for her service and passion as the Alumni’s “Historian” since 1999.

The next reunion will be in June of 2013.

Text Only
  • nei-rv080114-raliegh reunion pic3 Raleigh School Reunion a big success Saturday, July 26, began with threats of rain and stormy weather for east central Indiana and as midday arrived, it became a very hot, humid summer day for the 2nd Annual Raleigh School Reunion where the group of former Raleigh students along with fr

    August 1, 2014 6 Photos

  • sch-rv080114-class of 1964 pic1 RHS Class of 1964 reunion June 20-21 was a special weekend for members and friends of the Rushville High School Class of 1964 as they celebrated 50 years since their graduation.They enjoyed activity choices of golf, a meet and greet at Indiana Downs and shared stories, photos

    August 1, 2014 3 Photos

  • sch-rv080114-school board logo Deadline approaches for school board candidates This fall you have the opportunity (and responsibility) to elect three people to your Rush County School Board. The Rush Country School Board of Trustees is made up of seven elected members. They each represent a specific geographic area (Township).

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • sch-rv072914-res west Keeping watch at RES West There is someone new keeping watch over Rushville Elementary School West (home of the Warriors). The Warrior is a gift from the RESW Staff and stands tall as a symbol of pride for all who enter. Webster defines a Warrior as “a person who fights in ba

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Mayor appoints Dr. Williams for Board of Public Works Rushville’s Mayor Mike Pavey has announced his final appointment for the Board of Public Works. Dr. John E. Williams, former Rush County Schools Superintendent, will now hold this position vacated by Angie Barton.Due to a new job offer out of town, f

    July 29, 2014

  • Ivy Tech plans Saturday Express Enrollment RICHMOND – Ivy Tech Community College Richmond will be offering an Express Enrollment event at the Ivy Tech Community College Instructional Center, 717 West 21st Street in Connersville. Express Enrollment offers prospective and returning students a “

    July 29, 2014

  • nei-rv072214-citizens scholarships pic Citizens State Bank announces scholarship winners In the importance of education throughout our community, Citizens State Bank proudly awards seven high school scholarships to one graduate from each area that they serve. The scholarship program began in 1985 and was designed to encourage individuals

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Ivy Tech Community College Richmond offers special express enrollment event RICHMOND – Ivy Tech Community College Richmond is offering a special express enrollment event at their Johnson Hall location. Express Enrollment offers prospective students a “one-stop” experience in the enrollment process and does not require an app

    July 22, 2014

  • Ivy Tech Community College Richmond offers special express enrollment event RICHMOND – Ivy Tech Community College Richmond is offering a special express enrollment event at their Johnson Hall location. Express Enrollment offers prospective students a “one-stop” experience in the enrollment process and does not require an app

    July 18, 2014

  • 'Tom Raper Business Studies Center' recognizes contributions to Ivy Tech Richmond RICHMOND – Ivy Tech Community College Richmond recognized today local philanthropists and Ivy Tech donors, Tom Raper and his wife Suzanne, with the establishment of the Tom Raper Center for Business Studies. The dedication is located on the third flo

    July 18, 2014