Rushville Republican

March 15, 2013

RCS Board Designated as an “Outstanding Board”

Marianne Scott
Rushville Republican

RUSHVILLE — The Indiana School Boards Association (ISBA) established the Certification Awards Program (CAP) in July of 1992. This program recognizes officially seated board members for their dedication to continuous improvement especially through attendance at ISBA sponsored conferences, seminars and retreats. Each time a board member attends an ISBA function/in-service program, they are awarded points. These points translate into four different levels of distinction. Level 1 (75 points), 2 (125 points), 3 (175 points), and Master (225 points) can be attained.

If a majority of a board attains a minimum of Level 1 recognition, the board is considered to be an “Outstanding Board.”  As of March 2013 the Rush County School Board has been named an “Outstanding Board” due to the fact that Mr. Jeff Slaton, Dr. Steve Sickbert and Paul Barada have been granted Level 1 status. Anita Jackson has been granted the Level 2 Status and Mr. John Wilson has been granted the Master Status. There will be a presentation of the “Outstanding Board” designation at the spring regional meeting of ISBA.

“Each of these Board Members is to be congratulated for their efforts on behalf of the Rush County School Board. Their commitment to train themselves to be better board members through attending in-services programs is just one more reason Rush County Schools is a great place to be,” stated Dr. John E. Williams, RCS superintendent.

Marianne Scott is the Legacy Fund director/information officer for Rush County Schools.