Rushville Republican

August 2, 2013

State president speaks to Rush County Retired Teachers Association

By Libby Smith Rushville Republican
Rushville Republican

---- — Members and guests of the Rush County Retired Teachers Association met on Thursday, June 27, at the Conference Center at Rush Memorial Hospital. Following the welcome by president Bud King and grace by Ken Brashaber, lunch was enjoyed.

Bud opened the meeting with the Pledge to the Flag and then introduced the guests and newest retirees: Carol Greiser, the new president of Indiana Retired Teachers; Sue Templin, our area 6 representative; Karen Smith, new associate member; Becky Lyons; Pat Keaffaber, who is the new president of Fayette County Retired Teachers; and new retirees Donna Swigart, Mark Rozzell and Charlie Gratzer with wife, Liz.

The treasurer’s report and the secretary’s minutes were approved and Sharon Wooley recognized and thanked members of the calling committee. Shirley Jones reminded members to keep track of their volunteer hours, and Steve Foley gave a brief memorial for teachers who have passed away this year. Those remembered were: William Hamm, William Hauk, Phil Voiles, and Landon Herbert.

Bud introduced our district representative, Sue Templin, who then introduced Carol Greiser, the new state president. Carol is a resident of Elkhart County, and was a kindergarten/first grade teacher. Carol’s Rushville visit was her first duty as the new president, and she began with a pop quiz with candy prizes.

We were reminded that we are hosting the Area 5-6 Workshop on September 18 at the First Baptist Church. All members were encouraged to attend, and there will be no charge for the meal. Each member should be contacted by their regular caller to R.S.V.P. The planning meeting for next year’s calender was to be held at 1 p.m. on July 12 at In Stitches. The pencil project, which gives each first grader in the elementary schools a new pencil, is scheduled about two weeks after school starts. Volunteers are needed to help sign up associate members at 7:30 a.m. on Aug. 5 at the Laughlin Center.

Retirees and associate members with perfect attendance for 2012-2013 were announced. Officers for the next two years will be Bud King, president; Merrill Carrigan, vice-president; Jerri Hay, treasurer; and Libby Smith, secretary. Marie King won the 50/50 drawing, and brags for a quarter followed. Those bragging were Jerry Cain, David Young, Tanya VanOsdol, Connie Schakel, Tom Mercer, Phil Shanahan, Merrill Carrigan, Barb Kendall, Louise Kendall, and Ken and Charlotte Brashaber. Pin money was collected, followed by two jokes of the day. Happy Birthday was sung to April, May and June members, and the meeting was closed with the singing of “God Bless America.”

The next meeting will be at 6 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 26 at First Baptist Church, and a representative of Court Appointed Special Advocates for Children will speak.