Rushville Republican

Opinion

Opinion
  • Fondly remembering favorite teachers

    Dear Editor:
    If it wasn’t for my high school teachers Mrs. Gulde, Mr. Blair and Mrs. Perin, I might think that Chekov was only a starship pilot on “Star Trek,” Seymour Glass was the name of an Indiana glazier, and Romeo and Juliet was only a movie that starred Leonardo DiCaprio and Clair Danes.

    June 13, 2013

  • Leising: Responsible state government

    The 2013 legislative session came to an end recently with passage of our state’s next two-year budget. As other states struggle to find ways to balance their budgets, Indiana has passed an honestly balanced budget that maintains adequate reserves and still provides millions of dollars in tax relief.

    June 12, 2013

  • Barada: Gun scare is a lot of hot air

    It’s obvious that many people really believe that, somehow or other, it’s possible for the government to take their firearms away.

    June 11, 2013

  • Barada: Fashion statements come and go

    A few days ago, I was watching the first game of the NBA Eastern Conference Finals between the Indiana Pacers and the Miami Heat. Unfortunately, the Pacers lost by a single point.

    June 4, 2013

  • Barada: Spending cuts don’t have to hurt

    How many of us really understand what “sequestration” means? The media has been overflowing with commentary about the good or the evil that will be caused by sequestration. It all starts with the federal budget.

    May 28, 2013

  • Mauzy: Seniors perform final tasks at RCHS

    As the parent of a 2013 high school graduate, I approach the ending of the school year in a joyous yet melancholy kind of way. Every milestone my son hit this year has come with elation attached to subdued realizations. Years of watching him burn the midnight oil while working on homework assignments and then witnessing the dedication to his sporting events will soon end. To be sure, the growth of a child is a wonderful event.

    May 23, 2013

  • Library should be county-wide

    Dear Editor:
    I read with interest Paul Barada’s column proposing that the Rushville Library should become a county facility.
    Way back in 1990, shortly after I became publisher of the Rushville Republican, I approached the director of the library, informing her that I wished to put the entire resources of the local newspaper behind a drive to convert the city library to a county library.

    May 22, 2013

  • Our View: Seizure of AP phone records insult to independent press

    Distrust of government secrecy has been elevated to an exceptional level with the disclosure the Justice Department covertly examined two months of Associated Press phone records to determine who leaked details to the AP about a foiled terrorist plot.

    May 21, 2013

  • Barada: 50 years ago and counting

    My, does time fly! On June 22 next month, the Rushville High School Class of 1963 will celebrate its 50th anniversary. To be honest, 1963 doesn’t sound all that long ago, until one considers that, when we graduated in June 1963, the Class of 1913 was celebrating its 50th anniversary! Now, 1913 seemed like a long time ago when I was just 17 years old. The year 1913 was four years before the United States entered World War One.

    May 21, 2013

  • Barada: Local library should be a county facility

    A noble effort is underway to renovate and expand the Rushville Public Library. It will not be an easy task. What will help, in my opinion, will be finally making the public library a county library.

    May 14, 2013