Rushville Republican

Opinion

October 4, 2012

Mauzy: Voters can be the micro-managing boss

RUSHVILLE — During an election, registered voters are offered what may be the only chance in their lifetime to be the hiring manager. The task of the voters is similar to that of the human resources professional. We try to determine who best fits role for the ideals we have for the job at hand, the most qualified for the job. We may not have the privilege to a face-to-face interview in order to ask the interview questions, but there are some things we can do.

First, research the candidates and read up on the issues they represent best. Second, in this age of technology, send the candidates an email message with your concerns. Sure, you may receive a blanket reply but you never know who might take the time to respectfully respond. At the very least, you will know that you are being proactive in the process. Third, study the candidates while watching debates or while reading about the banter between two parties. Televised debates are great because not only do voters receive the chance to hear responses, we can study the non-verbal body language. The non-verbal language helps to create the total picture of the person we watch.

After the election, voters have another role to play, that of being the micro-managing boss. This means that we remain aware of which politicians are keeping up with what important issues. Which ones are being ethical and staying true to the words spoken during the campaign rush. Be relentless in your managing. Send them letters or emails to let them know you are watching and also to let them know what they are doing right as well as wrong. There’s a lot to be said for being a “thorn in the side,” especially if a lot of people are engaged in the activity.

I know many people feel that voters cannot change the way things are and so the only thing that gets accomplished is grumbling about politics and politicians. Why though, do we allow the candidates to force the issue of change down our throats if change is not believable? I truly believe that the people can make a difference if they make the decision to be proactive. It’s tiring, frustrating, and sometime very stressful, but the results can be fruitful.

I have become a micromanager of sorts. I no longer assume that people, or organizations, are going to do what they say they will do. I have had too many poor experiences with people who either don’t do their jobs or they don’t know how to do their jobs and it seems to get worse every day. I am fed up to the point that I am on it most of the time. I follow up with phone calls or personal visits to see if everything is going the way it should be. Of late, I have even been inclined to offer suggestions on how certain people can better accomplish their jobs. In my opinion, it’s more about the people not the organizations that the people must deal with. After all, the people hire the professionals they use.

The people should be in control, both here in their personal lives and also in the politics of our elected officials. I urge all eligible voters to carefully consider who to place into political office. Don’t just vote for a party or a name, but vote for the person who appears best suited for the tasks you feel most important. It’s a big election year; make sure your recently eligible teenagers are registered to vote. Register at the county clerk’s office or online at https://indianavoters.in.gov/PublicSite/PublicMain.aspx. Deadline is Tuesday, Oct. 9, 2012.

Be proactive, be informed, and be relentless in your efforts. It’s time for the people to take back control.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The best years of your life

    As people age they often look back to fondly recall the best years of their lives. Natural timeframes are the college years or that certain age before the daily grind of work and family take over the bulk of the day. Associations are to being carefree with limited responsibilities, a light and airy existence.

    August 13, 2013

  • Ziemke: My Summer Homework

    Even though session has been out for a little more than a month, the General Assembly still has much work to do. I had a brief break where I got to go home and mow the lawn, spend time at my restaurant, the Brau Haus, and attend a few festivals in addition to continuing to work on constituent concerns. The time has come for work on summer study committees to commence and I’m ready to get back at it.

    June 28, 2013

  • Mauzy: Rush County: The hope and the despair

    Moments arise when hope and despair briefly intersect. During these emotional overlaps, it’s a toss-up as to which energy will win even though we desire the best. Two recent high-profile events present the overlapping calamity often noticed in this community.

    June 28, 2013

  • Asbestos awareness is an important topic

    Dear Editor:
    My father, sister and husband all died because of asbestos. Now my brother has asbestosis. I set up my website because of the death of my husband to let people know of the dangers. It was the first website designed by a person on the internet at that time instead of by lawyers. The stories are to honour those effected by asbestos and to make sure they are never forgotten. I had just finished the last sentence when I heard of Janelle’s death.

    June 27, 2013

  • Proposed parade route

    Dear Editor:
    I see room for compromise on the 4th of July parade route. Up Main Street to 5th Street then take 5th Street to Harrison Street to 11th Street.
    Gene Monroe
    Rushville

    June 26, 2013

  • Barada: Good advice for parents and college students

    This week’s column is more for the parents of kids about to head to college than unsolicited advice for students about to go. Why? Because kids going away from home, some for the very first time ever, can be an even more traumatic event for the parents than for their children!

    June 25, 2013

  • Stop the student loan interest rate hike

    The key to a great life is a good education. But paying for a college education is tough. Many families are taking out second mortgages. Some are putting-off deserved vacations. Others are telling their kids they just can’t afford to attend the school of their choice.

    June 19, 2013

  • Mauzy: Recent graduates are free to explore

    Two weeks have now passed since Rush County Schools released new graduates from a state required academic curriculum.

    June 18, 2013

  • Parade should be on Harrison Street

    Dear Editor:
    There was good reason for not moving the parade back onto Main Street after the third lane was rammed through: we learned Harrison Street is a better route for both the participants and the spectators.

    June 18, 2013

  • Barada: The right people in key places

    For the first time in years, this community has exceptionally good people in key places within organizations involved directly with helping make Rush County a better place in which to live!

    June 18, 2013

Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.