Rushville Republican

Opinion

October 17, 2012

Walmart offers assault rifles for “hunting,” priced “just right”

RUSHVILLE — Dear Editor:

I was really pleased a couple of days ago when I received the latest circular from Walmart. Until then, I hadn’t realized that I could buy my necessary assault weapons from the friendly store that is most famous for being the major outlet for goods from China.

As is the case with most homeowners, I need to maintain a large assortment of assault weapons in my home in the event the need arises to overthrow a government, foreign or domestic. They are also often necessary to fight off attacks by rabbits, squirrels, white-tail deer, raccoons and so forth. Be aware that this can happen at any time.

Now I can rest easy. Right there in the Walmart hunting needs circular were featured two beauties, the Sig Sauer SIGM400 and the Colt Carbine AR15. You’ll be as pleased as I was to learn that both of these assault rifles fire the ever-popular 5.56 NATO ammunition, making it easy to stock up on ammo. Both are finished off in black, which gives them an even nicer and more ominous and threatening appearance.

The Sig Sauer has a collapsible stock, which really comes in handy when you are robbing a bank, as it is much easier to conceal under any stylish jacket. It also comes with a 30-round magazine, in the event that serious opposition is encountered.

The ad fails to mention whether or not these splendid assault rifles are “Made in China,” but I’ll try to find out, as those Chinese make lots of good stuff.

Now there may be sad news for Rush County residents who are in immediate need of more assault weapons. The Rushville Walmart is possibly the tiniest Walmart in existence--a situation worsened since they are trying to cram a grocery and liquor store into what was already a small, cramped building. They may not have room for a nice display of assault weapons. I expect the “big” Walmarts in Greensburg, Shelbyville and other towns around can fill your needs.

Oh, I forgot to mention: Walmart headed the page listing the assault rifles thusly:

“All the hunting gear you’ll need, priced just right.”

So, happy hunting--and let me know what game you bag with your dandy new assault rifle. Try not to fire off all 30 rounds--it almost ruins the meat.

And if you have an opinion, pro or con, write me at normvoiles@frontier.com.

Best regards,

Norm Voiles

Resident of Rush County; native of Decatur County

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • The best years of your life

    As people age they often look back to fondly recall the best years of their lives. Natural timeframes are the college years or that certain age before the daily grind of work and family take over the bulk of the day. Associations are to being carefree with limited responsibilities, a light and airy existence.

    August 13, 2013

  • Ziemke: My Summer Homework

    Even though session has been out for a little more than a month, the General Assembly still has much work to do. I had a brief break where I got to go home and mow the lawn, spend time at my restaurant, the Brau Haus, and attend a few festivals in addition to continuing to work on constituent concerns. The time has come for work on summer study committees to commence and I’m ready to get back at it.

    June 28, 2013

  • Mauzy: Rush County: The hope and the despair

    Moments arise when hope and despair briefly intersect. During these emotional overlaps, it’s a toss-up as to which energy will win even though we desire the best. Two recent high-profile events present the overlapping calamity often noticed in this community.

    June 28, 2013

  • Asbestos awareness is an important topic

    Dear Editor:
    My father, sister and husband all died because of asbestos. Now my brother has asbestosis. I set up my website because of the death of my husband to let people know of the dangers. It was the first website designed by a person on the internet at that time instead of by lawyers. The stories are to honour those effected by asbestos and to make sure they are never forgotten. I had just finished the last sentence when I heard of Janelle’s death.

    June 27, 2013

  • Proposed parade route

    Dear Editor:
    I see room for compromise on the 4th of July parade route. Up Main Street to 5th Street then take 5th Street to Harrison Street to 11th Street.
    Gene Monroe
    Rushville

    June 26, 2013

  • Barada: Good advice for parents and college students

    This week’s column is more for the parents of kids about to head to college than unsolicited advice for students about to go. Why? Because kids going away from home, some for the very first time ever, can be an even more traumatic event for the parents than for their children!

    June 25, 2013

  • Stop the student loan interest rate hike

    The key to a great life is a good education. But paying for a college education is tough. Many families are taking out second mortgages. Some are putting-off deserved vacations. Others are telling their kids they just can’t afford to attend the school of their choice.

    June 19, 2013

  • Mauzy: Recent graduates are free to explore

    Two weeks have now passed since Rush County Schools released new graduates from a state required academic curriculum.

    June 18, 2013

  • Parade should be on Harrison Street

    Dear Editor:
    There was good reason for not moving the parade back onto Main Street after the third lane was rammed through: we learned Harrison Street is a better route for both the participants and the spectators.

    June 18, 2013

  • Barada: The right people in key places

    For the first time in years, this community has exceptionally good people in key places within organizations involved directly with helping make Rush County a better place in which to live!

    June 18, 2013

Featured Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.