Rushville Republican

November 24, 2012

County commissioners make annual appointments

Frank Denzler
Rushville Republican

RUSHVILLE — The Rush County Commissioners met earlier this week and continued to wind up 2012 business by making annual appointments to various boards and organizations. The appointments will take effect during the 2013 calendar year. With two new commissioners; Mark Bacon (southern district) and Bruce Levi (central district) taking office effective Jan. 1,, some of the appointments will be made after they take office.

Appointments made Monday: Leigh Morning was retained as county attorney, Mike Holzback was named to again serve on the area plan commission and the board of zoning appeals, Lois Hatfield was also given another term on the BZA. Gilliam Janitorial will have their custodial contract extended to provide janitorial service to the courthouse, Rushville Mayor Mike Pavey will represent the county as the appointee to the Eastern Indiana Regional Wage Board, county APC director Kate Meyer was appointed to represent the county on the ECDC board. Outgoing commissioner Tom Barnes will retain his position on the Rush County Fiber Board, county highway superintendent Jerry Sitton was reappointed, Chuck Kemker will retain his position as EMA director and remain the county’s contact with Indiana Homeland Security. Veteran service officer Steve Land was reappointed and the county leaders’ final appointments were made to the new community corrections board with Ron Jarman, Deborah Adams, Carole Yeend and Steve Houston to serve.

The county appointment to the Rush Memorial Hospital Board was taken under advertisement and will be made during the Dec. 3 meeting. Four applicants, John Byrne, Angie Barton, Denny Corn and Mike Beard expressed interest in the two available positions.

In other matters, APC director Kate Meyer said that the next public meeting regarding county compliance with the American Disabilities Act (ADA) will be held Nov. 29 beginning at 5:30 p.m. in the courthouse Assembly Room. According to Meyer, this meeting is in regards to sidewalk assessments.

Rush County Chief Deputy Duane Raab was next to address the county leaders and said the inmate population is once again on the increase at the Rush County Jail with the facility currently housing 42 inmates. In an unrelated matter, Raab said officers with the RCSD are currently participating in a statewide traffic safety blitz aimed at removing impaired drivers from roadways and enforcing seatbelt use.

Frank Denzler, 765-932-2222 ext. 106