Rushville Republican

March 30, 2013

Rush County Community Foundation elects new board members

Rushville Republican

RUSHVILLE — The board of directors of the Rush County Community Foundation recently elected two new board members to replace Pam Hoeing, Al Hodge and Terry Smith, who completed their terms in December 2012. Amy Meyer Ploeger and Robert Bridges graciously accepted the opportunity to serve on the Foundation board. Their terms began Jan. 1, 2013.

Amy Meyer Ploeger is a dentist with Armstrong and Ploeger in Knightstown.

Born and raised in Rush County she and her husband, Christopher, live in the New Salem area. Amy is a member of St. Mary’s Church and Noble Niters Home Ec Club. She has been very active with the Foundation having served on the

Board from 2006 through 2011 and has also served on many committees of the Foundation.

A graduate of Franklin College and Indiana University School of Dentistry, her response when asked why she once again accepted a position on the Foundation Board was, “It is an honor to be asked to serve once again on the Board. I truly believe the Rush County Community Foundation makes a substantial positive impact on the community. The uniqueness of this organization is that it supports all areas of Rush County through community grants and scholarships.”

Robert Bridges works for Davis Towing, is a substitute teacher for Rush County Schools and serves as the Rushville Police Department D.A.R.E. officer. He also serves as an at-large member and President of the Rushville City Council. He and his wife, Mary Ann, live in Rushville and have three adult children, Maria, Joseph and Brendan, and one grandchild.

He is a member of the Rushville St. Mary’s Catholic Church where he serves on the finance council; chief volunteer officer of the Boys and Girls Club of Rush County Board of Directors; the American Legion; Rushville Knights of Columbus; Fraternal Order of Police; and the Vietnam Veterans Association.  

When asked why he agreed to serve as a Foundation board member he said, “As I served on the Foundation Scholarship Committee I realized the number of persons and organizations that benefited from the endeavors of the foundation, and was honored to be asked to become a member of their Board of Directors.”

David Burkhardt, president of the board stated, “I would like to take this opportunity to thank our retiring board members; Pam, Al and Terry, for their service. We have appreciated all their hard work, their vision for the

Foundation, and their example of leadership and dedication for us all to follow. I would also like to welcome our new board members, Amy and Bob. We know that with their commitment to Rush County combined with their innovative ideas, the Foundation will move forward toward reaching and maintaining their goals.”  

Meeting the philanthropic needs of Rush County since 1991, The Rush County Community Foundation, Inc., the Foundation of Rush County’s future, is a nonprofit public charity established to serve donors, award grants and scholarships, and provide leadership to enrich and enhance the quality of life in Rush County, not only today, but for our future generations. For more information please visit or contact Garry Cooley, executive director, or Terry VanNatta, assistant executive director and chief financial officer, at their office at 117 N. Main St., Rushville, IN 46173, or call them at (765) 938-1177.

Ñ Rushville Republican