Rushville Republican

February 11, 2014

Burglar sentenced to 16 Years

Rushville Republican

---- — Paul L. Rice, III, of Muncie, was sentenced to 16 years in the Indiana Department of Correction after pleading guilty to Burglary, a Class B Felony in the Rush Circuit Court. Rice was also ordered to pay nearly $10,000 in restitution. James Lynn, the co-defendant in the case, was sentenced to 20 years for his participation in the burglary following a jury trial in 2013. Lynn is currently serving his sentence in the Indiana Department of Correction.

At the sentencing hearing, Rice admitted to breaking and entering the home of Rebecca McDonald and taking items from the residence on Dec. 21, 2012. Rice, and his cohort Lynn, stopped at the McDonald residence while the homeowner was away. The two entered the home and took numerous personal items. McDonald returned while the men were exiting her home. She saw the two men up close and witnessed them putting her items in their vehicle. Rice and Lynn then left her property, hitting McDonald’s vehicle while leaving. Lynn was arrested a short time after the burglary, but Rice remained on the run until October 2013.

Chief Deputy Prosecutor Phillip Morgan handled the case and was satisfied with the result.

“I’m happy we were able to get this burglar in custody and sentenced to a substantial amount of time. He has a lengthy criminal history, mainly theft and burglary convictions, and this sentence will keep him off the streets for a long time,” Morgan said.

Prosecutor Phil Caviness was also pleased with the result.

“Due to the evidence the State had against Mr. Rice, as well as his criminal history, I am pleased he received the 16 year sentence. It was also nice that this case could be resolved without having to go to jury trial, which saved the taxpayers money,” Caviness said.

Chief Deputy Morgan wished to thank Major Duane Raab of the Rush County Sheriff’s Department for his work in investigating this case. The Prosecutors also congratulate Major Raab on his retirement.

— Rushville Republican