Rushville Republican

October 8, 2013

RCP names Hammy Award winners

Rushville Republican

---- — The Rush County Players (RCP) held its annual membership meeting on Saturday, Aug. 17, 2013 at the Knights of Columbus (K of C). The evening ended with the 2012-2013 Hammy Awards presentation.

To start the evening, everyone enjoyed a time of fellowship and a delicious traditional K of C meal. At the membership meeting the annual reports were presented and the exiting RCP Board Members were recognized for successfully completing their terms including Lisa Boaz, Derek Davis, Bonnie Miller and Daniel Wells. The incoming Board Members were named including Matt Amos, Brandy Evans, Steve Harmon and Carrie Simmermon, as well as an introduction to the incoming executive board. Before outgoing president Lisa Boaz turned the meeting over to incoming president Matt Amos, she presented three Presidential Certificates of Appreciation to Kevin Green for continual support for RCP, and to Chante’ Wells, and Paul Barada, Jr. both for their 501C(3) efforts which resulted in RCP receiving 501C(3) status.

President Matt Amos spoke briefly about his goals for RCP and changes that the membership would be seeing. RCP hosted guest, Rush County EMA director Chuck Kemker, spoke about Rush County’s upcoming Active Shooter exercise. The EMA and RCP entered an agreement to use RCP’s actors in the exercise. Amos is pleased that the EMA turned to RCP for help with the event.

The annual Hammy Awards followed the meeting and the 2012-2013 Hammy Award Winners were: Youth Supporting Actress went to Elly Boaz for Inherit the Wind and the Youth Supporting Actor went to Steven Locchetta for The Little Rushcal’s. The Adult Supporting Actress was awarded to Rachelle McCorkle for Miracle on 34th Street and the Adult Supporting Actor went to Matt Flath for Inherit the Wind. Youth Female Actress of the Year went to Delaney Dawson for Miracle on 34th Street and Youth Male Actor of the year went to Tyler Amos for The Little Rushcal’s. In the adult category Lisa Boaz was awarded the Actress of the Year for Inherit the Wind and Scott Bevington was RCP’s Actor of the Year also for Inherit the Wind. The Hammy Award Committee offered an explanation for omitting all musical categories for this season and the committee is confident the categories could be returned for the 2013-2014 Hammy Ceremony due to the shows that have been slated for the upcoming season, which are: Christmas in the Land of Oz, Nunsense II, and Run for Your Wife.

The Technical Achievement award was presented to Matt Griffin, Steven Locchetta and Patrick Moore for The Little Rushcal’s and The Little Rushcal’s, Donita Davis and Heidi Medd took the honors for Costuming of the Year as well. Dan Scholl was recognized for his set work for Inherit the Wind. The production of the year was awarded to Aaron Scholl, Erica Scholl and Bonnie Miller for Inherit the Wind.

To round out the awards presentation, the Trouper of the Year nominees were named: Paul Barada, Jr., Lisa Boaz, Cory Bockover and Chante’ Wells were this year’s nominees. The RCP Board of Directors vote on this award and the Trouper is someone who exemplifies all the best qualities of RCP- hard work, dedication, and willingness to work behind the scenes, often on more than one production, and often with little or no recognition. The 2012-2013 Trouper of the Year was awarded to Lisa Boaz.