Rushville Republican

March 11, 2014

Drive-By Truckers with Blitzen Trapper at The Vogue

Rushville Republican

---- — INDIANAPOLIS - The Vogue in Broad Ripple welcomes Drive-By Truckers at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, March 2 (doors open at 7 p.m.) as part of the Sun King Concert Series with special guests Blitzen Trapper.

Tickets are $22-$25 and on sale now at the Vogue Box Office, online at or charge-by-phone at 877-4-FLY-TIX (435-9849). The Vogue is located at 6259 N. College Ave. (in the Broad Ripple Village) in Indianapolis. Show is 21+. No Smoking Event.

About Drive-By Truckers: English Oceans, the 12th release by Athens, Georgia’s Drive-By Truckers is an elegantly balanced and deeply engaged new effort that finds the group refreshed and firing on all cylinders. All but one of the collection’s 13 new songs, written by singer- guitarists and co-founding members Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley, were recorded during 13 days of sessions in August 2013 with longtime producer David Barbe. Six of the songs were the result of a burst of writing activity by Cooley. Cooley and Hood’s brace of character-based songs depict a neatly interlocking gallery of relationships, often in dissolution and discord. The last song written and recorded for the album is Hood’s rave-up “Pauline Hawkins,” based on a new novel by Willy Vlautin. DBT’s ever-keen political edge can be seen in two songs on the release. Cooley’s “Made Up English Oceans” derives from his interest in the career of Lee Atwater, the Republican operative who was active in the Reagan and Bush campaigns of the ‘80s.

About Blitzen Trapper: VII is the seventh record from Blitzen Trapper and their first release for Vagrant Records. Without a doubt the culmination of all the group’s best work, VII sounds a lot like America. Blitzen Trapper was founded in Portland, Oregon in 2000 by a group of native Pacific Northwesterners, who played around town endlessly to skeleton crowds and gave away an impressive stream of garage recordings on CDR for years. Then came the Blitzen Trapper record in 2003, and Field Rexx in 2005. But it wasn’t until 2007’s self released Wild Mountain Nation made a big splash that they finally hit the road, setting the stage for Furr’s release the following year.