Rushville Republican

Columns

February 18, 2014

Looking barkward: Reviewing WKC '14

In recent years, dog lovers around the globe have eagerly anticipated my annual preview of the famous Westminster Kennel Club (WKC) Dog Show, especially my forecast of which dog will win Best in Show (BIS). I’m at a loss to explain the uncanny karma at work here, but somehow, every year, my WKC BIS prediction – you can look this up – is dead wrong.

This year, I’m out of the WKC prediction BIS-ness. Instead, this is a recap – a quick look barkward at WKC 2014, which I predicted would be won by a Wire Fox Terrier, and there’s no way you can disprove it.

To allow me to review all the pageantry and hoopla at my leisure, I meticulously recorded both nights of live WKC telecasts featured on the USA network. Unfortunately, this column is being written after I meticulously deleted both nights of live WKC telecasts featured on the USA network. Before I watched them. But I won’t let this stop me, because, after all, since when have you ever expected me to actually know what I’m talking about?

The WKC Show is pretty much the Super Bowl of the dog show world. In fact, the BIS winner takes home a bunch of stuff, including a huge shiny tureen that’s made of real silver, making it one super bowl indeed.

Like the teams that win the National Hockey League’s Stanley Cup, everyone involved in breeding, grooming, handling, owning and poop-scooping for the winning dog loves to pass the bowl around and kiss it. Usually, the dog goes last.

The WKC’s BIS dog pretty much becomes a star for the rest of its life. For example, even today, thousands still scour the tabloids and the Internet for news about 2002 winner Spice Girl, a miniature poodle that unfortunately has been in and out of rehab while simultaneously engaging in high-profile romances with dogs owned by David Beckham and Eddie Murphy.

Text Only
Columns
  • Young people should be involved in sports People who know me are probably aware that my favorite sport is football. As it turns out, I’m not alone, at least in terms of the number of high school kids who take part in the sport. During the 2012-13 school year, a total of 1,088,158 high school

    August 19, 2014

  • A Washing-ton of baseball trivia On our recent, although not really so recent anymore, I guess, since I’ve been writing about it for weeks on end, summer vacation, all the guys in our group -- me, brothers-in-law, nephews, sons, father-in-law -- went to a Washington Nationals vs. Co

    August 19, 2014

  • Habitual behavior Mary Ellen and I have been happy together for so long that we sometimes forget how much we annoy each other, so on the trip back home from our recent vacation, it was time catch up on our bad habits.For example, I told Mary Ellen that she is a relent

    August 19, 2014

  • Driving Highway 40 in the 40's My days in the 1940’s would today be extremely quiet and sedate. I have remembrances of having an enjoyable day with family and in reality doing little. On a Sunday afternoon, we would take off and head toward Dunreith and Highway 40, the only 4-lane

    August 19, 2014

  • Card, why do I need a stinking card? I would consider myself a typical male shopper, I buy. That is not to say that I don’t look for a good deal, but I am not going to travel from store to store in search of saving a few pennies here or there. With that in mind, I recently was in search

    August 15, 2014

  • Giving young people a second chance How many of you know what the Hoosier Youth ChalleNGe Academy is? More basically, how many of you know where it is? I had a vague notion of where it is, but I would have been hard-pressed to tell you much about what it is. The Hoosier Youth ChalleNGe

    August 12, 2014

  • Civil reunion My wife and I enjoy doing many things together. But when our entertainment preferences are not in sync, we can communicate openly with each other. That makes for a perfect union. But it may make for a lousy reunion. Let me explain.The Wolfsie family

    August 12, 2014

  • A capitol idea, sealed with a snog On our recent summer vacation to Annapolis, Maryland, we made sure to see as many memorable sights as we could in nearby Washington, D.C. This included a tour of the United States capitol building. Or maybe it’s the Capitol Building? – I suddenly rea

    August 12, 2014

  • Tuesdays with Auri It began with a simple phone call to my friend Auri, a computer geek I asked to help me with my very successful website, which right now is attracting up to three visitors a month. To have a strong online presence, you have to spend several hours a d

    August 5, 2014

  • Technology is taking over You see them everywhere you go. Electronics. Adults are using them daily and so are children of all ages.I am so glad that when I was growing up, electronics were not big yet. Of course in school we used computers to do work, but they were new. I rem

    August 5, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Rescue Efforts Suspended at Japan Landslide Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Raw: Smaller Marches in Ferguson Marathon Suspect's Friend Pleads Guilty Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn Farm Resurgence Grows With Younger Crowd Microbrewery Chooses Special Can for Its Beer Ky. Firefighters Hurt in Ice Bucket Challenge Federal Investigation Will Look at Use of Force Community Deals With Michael Brown Aftermath US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Ferguson Teachers Training to Deal With Trauma Jon Hamm on the Unrest in Ferguson Tit for Tat? McDonald's Shuttered in Moscow Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit TX Gov Perry in Washington: 'Confident' in Case Hospital Releases Two Missionaries Who Had Ebola Ramen Health Risks: The Dark Side of the Noodle NYC Doctor-in-chief Seeks Community Approach Indonesian Police Fire Tear Gas at Protesters
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.